It seems that Michelle Wie has had a Senior Moment. Just when she thought that things were going well for her, something came along and bit her.Hard.
Wie forgot to sign her scorecard Friday after the second round of the State Farm Classic. That move disqualified her from the rest of the tournament. Yes, she was not like a good neighbor.
Here's the rule that she broke (source: USGA)
6-6 b. - Signing and Returning Score Card After completion of the round, the competitor should check his score for each hole and settle any doubtful points with the Committee. He must ensure that the marker or markers have signed the score card, sign the score card himself and return it to the Committee as soon as possible.
Note that the language says "he" but actually refers to any golfer, regardless of gender.
Another rule, also from USGA
3. Returning Score Card Rule 6-6, page 31. (A player is deemed to have returned her score card to the Committee when she leaves the roped area of the scoring tent or leaves the scoring trailer).
This was not the first time that she's been dq'ed. According to the Associated Press, Wie's problems in her short career has been colored by controversy, starting with her disqualification from her pro debut at the 2005 Samsung World Championship for taking an improper drop.
Since then, she's angered LGPA icon Annika Sorenstam for withdrawing from last year's Ginn Tribute - a tournament hosted by Sorenstam - and leaving early to start practicing for the next stop. And she's withdrawn from multiple events after poor starts, citing injuries. Not good when you have the wrath of women's golf and the female answer to Tiger Woods on your head.
Her best finish this year was 20th place in the Fields Open in Hawaii.
Perhaps it's time for Michelle to take some time away from the golf course and grow up, even break away from her family. She's got too much talent for this mess. Wie broke a rule that is as old as golf itself. That is, golfers are on the honor system and expected to play by the rules. She's been living a charmed life, playing on her looks and sponsor's exemptions. Maybe it's time for that to stop and someone to slap her out of it, like Cher slapping Nicholas Cage in "Moonstruck."
She's now gone from a tournament where either the $255,000 winner's purse or the $155,252 second prize would have put her comfortably within the top 80 money winners for the year - and virtually guaranteed her a place on the LPGA Tour next year. A win would have put ESPN's ratings through the roof. Now ESPN, the LPGA and Wie have egg on their faces. While tour officials and other players are sympathetic to her, rules are rules. Imagine if Tiger or Phil chose to break the rules. There would be hell to pay.
Michelle Wie could play with the men. Right now, she's spending the weekend without a paycheck and wondering, "what if." When I heard about this, I was saying, "What in the hell were you thinking?" Even I sign my card. I don't get a nickle for my efforts but I sign it everytime I play. You have a caddie to remind you. Listen. He could save you a lot of time and heartache. And money.